England stars Bukayo Saka and Jude Bellingham have been included on the shortlist for the 2023 men’s Ballon d’Or award, while Lionesses Mary Earps, Millie Bright, Rachel Daly and Georgia Stanway have been nominated for the women’s award.

Saka was named as England men’s player of the year on Tuesday, and his fine form for Arsenal and the Three Lions last season has seen him named on the 30-man shortlist. He is joined by England team-mate Jude Bellingham, who sealed a move from Borussia Dortmund to Real Madrid in the summer, after a stellar season for club and country.

Man City saw eight players named after their treble-winning season, led by Erling Haaland, who won the UEFA award for the best men’s player on Thursday, after his 52 goals last season. He is joined by Kevin De Bruyne, Rodri, Bernardo Silva, Julian Alvarez, Ruben Dias, Josko Gvardiol and Ilkay Gundogan, who joined Barcelona this summer.

Bayern Munich striker Harry Kane is also included, but there was no place for Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford despite his 30 goals and 11 assists during the 2022/23 season.

There are 13 players from the Premier League included on the Ballon d’Or nominations list, with eight from Man City.

Bukayo Saka, Jude Bellingham and Harry Kane are the representatives from England on the men’s shortlist.

Meanwhile, there are 12 WSL stars on the women’s shortlist, with Mary Earps, Millie Bright, Rachel Daly and Georgia Stanway representing the Lionesses.

Messi nominated, but no Ronaldo

Lionel Messi celebrates Argentina’s World Cup win

Inter Miami striker Lionel Messi was also among the nominees announced by organisers France Football magazine.

Seven-time winner Messi led Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar last December, their first triumph since 1986.

PSG forward Kylian Mbappe is also a nominee, but Cristiano Ronaldo is not included for first time since 2004 and Neymar is also absent.

Daly’s record season recognised

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Watch all of Rachel Daly’s Women’s Super League goals from the 2022-23 season

Daly’s record-breaking season in the WSL has been recognised. Her 22 goals for Aston Villa set a new WSL record which sees her nominated for the women’s Ballon d’Or alongside England team-mates Earps, Bright and Stanway, who all played key roles in the Lionesses’ run to the World Cup final last month.

The WSL is also well represented.

Chelsea striker Sam Kerr and Man City forward Khadija Shaw are among the 30 female nominees, along with Barcelona’s Aitana Bonmati, who helped Spain to World Cup glory last month.

However, Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas, who has won the women’s award for the past two years, is not nominated this year.

The winners will be announced when the Ballon d’Or 2023 ceremony takes place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on October 30.

Here are the nominations lists for 2023 Ballon d’Or, the Women’s Ballon d’Or, Yashin Trophy and the Kopa Trophy…

Men’s Ballon d’Or: Nominees…

Harry Kane celebrates Bayern Munich's winner with goal scorer Mathys Tel
Harry Kane is nominated on the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist

Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)

Harry Kane (Bayern Munich)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)

Erling Haaland (Man City)

Bernardo Silva (Man City)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

Rodri (Man City)

Julian Alvarez (Man City)

Ruben Dias (Man City)

Josko Gvardiol (Man City)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Andre Onana (Man United)

Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)

Lionel Messi (Inter Miami)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Randal Kolo Muani (PSG)

Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)

Kim Min-Jae (Bayern Munich)

Karim Benzema (Al-Ittihad)

Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)

Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona)

Victor Osimhen (Napoli)

Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)

Nicola Barella (Inter Milan)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Yassine Bounou (Al Hilal)

Women’s Ballon d’Or: Nominees…

Sam Kerr and Millie Bright
Chelsea stars Sam Kerr and Millie Bright are up for the women’s award

Mary Earps (Man United)

Millie Bright(Chelsea)

Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)

Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich)

Sam Kerr (Chelsea)

Guro Reiten (Chelsea)

Katie Mccabe (Arsenal)

Khadija Shaw (Man City)

Jill Roord (Man City)

Yui Hasegawa (Man City)

Hayley Raso (Real Madrid)

Amanda Ilestedt (Arsenal)

Hinata Miyazawa (Man United)

Daphne Van Domselaar (Aston Villa)

Mapi Leon (Barcelona)

Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)

Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)

Patricia Guijarro (Barcelona)

Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)

Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona)

Olga Ramona (Real Madrid)

Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid)

Alba Redondo (Levante)

Wendie Renard (Lyon)

Kadidiatou Diani (Lyon)

Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)

Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg)

Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)

Debinha (Kansas City)

Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)

Yashin Trophy: Nominees…

Ramsdale was player of the match at Anfield
Arsenal goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale is nominated for the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper

Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Ederson (Manchester City)

Andre Onana (Inter Milan)

Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)

Marc Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Mike Maignan (AC Milan)

Yassine Bounou ( Al-Hilal)

Brice Samba (RC Lens)

Dominik Livakovic (Fenerbahce)

Kopa Trophy: Nominees

Jude Bellingham in action for England during a Euro 2024 qualifier
Jude Bellingham is also nominated for the Kopa Trophy for the best U21 player

Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)

Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid)

Gavi (Barcelona)

Pedri (FC Barcelona)

Alejandro Balde (Barcelona)

Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)

Rasmus Hojlund (Manchester United)

Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig)

Antonio Silva (Benfica)

Elye Wahi (RC Lens)

The winners will be announced when the Ballon d’Or 2023 ceremony takes place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on October 30.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here