Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland are among the nominees for the FIFA World Player of the Year award, while five of England’s Women’s World Cup finalists are in contention for the awards.

Haaland is joined in the race by six of his Manchester City treble-winning teammates – including Ederson in the goalkeeper category – and their manager Pep Guardiola is nominated for the Men’s Coach Award. Current Tottenham manager Ange Postecoglou is also in the running for this award after winning the treble with Celtic.

While City dominates the list of players with half of the candidates, Declan Rice, who led West Ham to the Europa League title last season, also features in the 12-man list.

Ederson’s rivals for the goalkeeper award include Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois and Andre Onana, who won the Italian Cup and reached the Champions League final with Inter Milan before joining Manchester United.

The eligibility period for the men’s awards runs from December 19, 2022 – the day after current award holder Messi helped Argentina to World Cup glory – until August 2023.

Lionel Messi is the winner of the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award

The England Lionesses were also recognized for their efforts in reaching the Women’s World Cup final in Australia and New Zealand, with Rachel Daly, Alex Greenwood, Lauren James and Keira Walsh in contention for the FIFA Women’s Player of the Year award and Mary Earps competing for the Best title. FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper.

There are four winning Spanish players on the Most Valuable Player list, hoping to succeed last year’s winner Alexia Putellas, including Gini Hermoso.

Substitute Lauren James enters the fray early in the second half of the Women's World Cup final
Five of the England teams that have qualified for the Women’s World Cup finals are included in the rosters

England Women’s coach Sarina Wegman is in the running for the FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year award, alongside WSL-winning Chelsea coach Emma Hayes – but there is no nomination for the Spanish coach now on the table, Jorge Villeda.

Women’s Awards will be given for performances from August 1, 2022 to August 20, 2023.

The shortlisted nominees were selected by a panel of football experts who reviewed the longlists compiled by FIFA based on the nominees’ achievements during the eligibility periods for the award in question. The Player, Goalkeeper and Coach awards will be decided by an international judging panel made up of coaches, captains, journalists and fans.

FIFA nominees for the best female player

Aitana Bonmati (Spain); Linda Caicedo (Colombia); Rachel Daly (England); Kadiatu Diani (France); Caitlin Ford (Australia); Mary Fowler (Australia); Alex Greenwood (England); Jennifer Hermoso (Spain); Lindsay Horan (United States of America); Amanda Elestet (Sweden); Lauren James (England); Sam Kerr (Australia); Maby Leon (Spain); Hinata Miyazawa (Japan); Salma Baraluelo (Spain); Kira Walsh (England).

FIFA World Player of the Year nominees

Julian Alvarez (Argentina); Marcelo Brozovic (Croatia); Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium); Ilkay Gundogan (Germany); Erling Haaland (Norway); Rhodri (Spain); Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia); Kylian Mbappe (France); Lionel Messi (Argentina); Victor Osimhen (Nigeria); Declan Rice (England); Bernardo Silva (Portugal).

FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year nominees

Peter Gerhardson (Sweden): Jonathan Geraldez (Spain); Tony Gustafson (Sweden); whatever Hayes (England); Sarina Wegman (Holland).

FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year nominees

Pep Guardiola (Spain); Simone Inzaghi (Italy); Angie Postecoglou (Australia); Luciano Spalletti (Italy); Xavi (Spain).

FIFA nominees for best women’s goalkeeper

Mackenzie Arnold (Australia); Anne Catherine Berger (Germany); Catalina Cole (Spain); Mary Earps (England); Christian Endler (Chilean); Zekira Mosovic (Sweden); Sandra Baños Garcia Villamil (Spain).

Candidates for the FIFA Men’s Best Goalkeeper Award

Yassin Bono (Morocco); Thibaut Courtois (Belgium); Ederson (Brazil); Andre Onana (Cameroon); Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany).

FIFA Fan Award Nominees

Fan of Atletico Colon de Santa Fe (Argentina); Fran Herndal (England); Miguel Angel, Millonarios fan (Colombia).

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here