Destiny 2’s Shadowkeep, Beyond Light, and Witch Queen expansions are free until Final Shape launches

Destiny 2: Final Shape is set to close out the decade-long War of Light and Darkness story arc when it launches on June 4, but ahead of that, developer Bungie is offering players an easy way to catch up on previous expansions. Unveiled yesterday under an initiative called “Expansion Open Access,” all Destiny 2 players can access and play through the game’s Shadowkeep (2019), Beyond Light (2020), and The Witch Queen (2022) expansions.

“Make ultimate shape with three epic campaigns and earn an arsenal of exotic and legendary gear,” reads the description of the expansion’s open access trailer. And speaking of the trailer, Check out the Destiny 2 Expansion Open Access trailer for yourself below:

Now, of course, these three aren’t the only Destiny 2 expansions that are currently available to play in the game. As such, it might be smart to watch a playthrough or read a narrative summary of all the expansions released before The Final Shape next month.

Here’s every Destiny 2 expansion/DLC released since the game’s launch:

  • Curse of Osiris (2017)
  • Warmind (2018)
  • The Forsaken (2018)
  • Shadowkeep (2019)
  • Beyond Light (2020)
  • The Witch Queen (2022)
  • Lightfall (2023)

The Destiny 2 expansion’s open access period runs from today until June 3. If you’re a PlayStation Plus subscriber, you currently have access to Lightfall, now is the perfect time to catch up.

For more, watch the Destiny 2: The Final Shape reveal trailer here, and then check out this breakdown of The Final Shape’s new prismatic subclass, enemy factions, exotics, and more.

Are you going to play through these expansions before the final shape next month? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top