Englishman Tom Curry will find out his Rugby World Cup fate on Tuesday when he appears before the World Rugby panel on Tuesday. The Sale Sharks winger was sent off during England’s 27-10 win over Argentina in Marseille
Last updated: 12/09/23 at 1:12 pm
Tom Curry will attend a disciplinary hearing on Tuesday after receiving a red card in England’s opening World Cup match against Argentina.
Tom Curry, the England national team player, will discover the seriousness of his suspension when he appears before a judicial committee in Paris on Tuesday evening.
The 25-year-old was initially shown a yellow card within three minutes of the Rugby World Cup kick-off in England after a challenge on Argentine Juan Cruz Mallia, which saw a clash of heads between the pair.
The yellow card was upgraded to a red card after a review of the new ‘bunker’ system.
“Tom Curry will appear before an independent judicial committee in Paris after receiving a red card for committing an offense in violation of Law 9.13.” [dangerous tackle]“, confirmed World Rugby.
“At the player’s request, the hearing will be held on the evening of Tuesday, September 12.”
Sky Sports You understand that Curry will not be attending the conference in person, but will do so virtually instead.
He is one of three English players to see red in the past four matches, as World Rugby cracks down on dangerous tackles in a bid to increase player safety and reduce head injuries.
The Sale Sharks player, who has not played since the Premier League final, could face a similar ban to back-row colleague Billy Vunipola – two matches if he completes World Rugby’s tackling training programme.
This would rule Carey out of England’s group stage matches against Japan and Chile.
What do the world rugby laws say?
Direct contact in a tackle comes under Law 9 of the Rules of Rugby Union, which covers foul play. Law 9.11 states that “players must not do anything reckless or dangerous to others”, and the referee always has the right to issue a yellow or red card for any actions inconsistent with this.
Under the global governing body’s direct contact decision-making process for officials in March 2021, the considerations regarding whether an error has occurred in a direct contact situation are whether the player’s actions were intentional, reckless and/or avoidable.
Mitigation may be applied in relation to the issuance of a red or yellow card as a penalty along with a penalty kick if there is a sudden or significant change in height or direction from the ball carrier, or a late change in dynamics due to contact from another player, and the striker attempts to wrap his arms around the ball carrier.
However, there can be no mitigation if the wrongful act is considered intentional or extremely reckless.
For the latest updates, follow Sky Sports News and Sky Sports digital platforms.